Home made Jammy Dodgers

I feel like jammy dodgers were the biscuits of my childhood. I think I even asked for them for my birthday once. But they’re just so delicious! So I figured, why not try and make them myself? Needless to say, I was not disappointed with the result.

My grandma got a high temperature last week, so they took her into hospital, and I know that nothing makes her feel better than some good baking, and I was right! She loved them! As did the rest of my family! They’re buttery, crumbly, sweet and just down-right delicious. Oh and most importantly, they were super super simple! Get baking!

I did some with strawberry jam, some with apricot jam, and a few with lemon curd, but you could use whatever flavours you want; peanut butter, chocolate spread- whatever you fancy!!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 200g self-raising flour
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 100g butter
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1tsp vanilla
  • enough jam/ filling to fill the biscuits

METHOD:

  1. Heat oven to 190C/fan 170C. Rub flour, sugar and butter together until mixture resembles breadcrumbsor use a food processor. Add vanilla essence egg to bring the mixture together to form stiff dough.
  2. Flour surface and roll out dough to about 2cm thickness. Cut out using a cutter (I used a heart-shaped one) and place on a large baking sheet. Space them out as the mixture will spread when baking.
  3. Make a small indentation in the middle of each biscuit with the end of a wooden spoonor your fingers, and drop a tsp of jam in the centre. Bake for 13 mins until slightly risen and just golden. Cool on a wire rack.

ENJOY

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

